The Software Development Life Cycle, or SDLC, is a standard governed by the software industry in order to design, develop and test high quality software. Its primary purpose is to ensure the outcome of business needs and exceed user expectations punctually; all within the designated budget. Various process models possess certain strides through each phase in creating conventional steps or non-conventional steps; however steps should reflect the stages of the SDLC model phases for an accurate outcome.

The original process model lies within Waterfall; a “linear sequential life cycle model” (Tutorialspoints, 2014) in which phases are performed in a chronological form ensuring one phase is completed before the next begins. From there, other models have been generated to adhere to these standards in which business logistics have implemented through models such as waterfall, fountain, spiral, build and fix, rapid prototyping, incremental, and synchronize & stabilize. A simple system development life cycle should comprise of seven distinct elements: Requirements Analysis, Conceptual/Logical/Physical Design, Implementation, Data Loading, Testing, Deployment, and Maintenance. This framework is a practical checklist essential to any IT system development regardless of size or scope facilitating the progression from analysis to maintenance.

The cornerstone of an application starts at the requirements analysis stage which is the initial phase within the SDLC model. Conceptual planning collects data to isolate system enhancements and focus on business complications within the system framework. Project duties/risks are assessed, budgets are calculated, and the whole design infrastructure is conceived. In addition, job functions are defined such as “Asset Manager, Benefactor’s Representative, System Development Agent (SDA), System Support Agent (SSA), and other parties in SDLC policy” (Steinbach, 2013) are assigned throughout the course of this phase.

Once the requirements analysis is defined and all appropriate resources are assured; the blueprint must be constructed and mapped out. Conceptual, logical, and physical design phase ensues to gather and outline information. In addition, validation for efficient, maintenance, and training requirements are addressed. “Project development, project management, configuration management (CM), support, operations, and training management are refined for the intended application.” (Steinbach, 2013) By evaluating end-user necessities, the database can be successfully “organized, logically operated, and physically maintained.” (Career Education Corporation, 2010)

Copyright © 2014 Margaret Hillary. All Rights Reserved.


Career Education Corporation. (2010) MUSE Phase 1.

Steinbach, Chris (2013) C2. Systems Development Life Cycle.

Tutorialspoints (2014) SDLC Waterfall Mode.


error: Content is protected !!